skip to content

Department of Architecture

The Department would like to congratulate Professor Alan Short on being elected as the next President of Clare Hall College

Clare Hall was founded in 1966 and of course is distinguished by having been designed by Ralph Erskine with notable extensions by former Reader in the Faculty, Nicholas Ray. The college boasts an impressive array of distinguished past and present fellows including a number of Nobel Prize Winners.

Alan sits in a list of distinguished Presidents of Clare Hall from foundation:

• 1966 Sir Brian Pippard
• 1973 Sir Robert Honeycomb
• 1980 Sir Michael Stoker
• 1987 Anthony Low
• 1994 Dame Gillian Beer
• 2001 Ekhard Salje
• 2008 Sir Martin Harris
• 2013 David John Ibbetson
• 2020 Alan Short